Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
College Soccer


November 28, 2012
Four local products make the list

Although no players at metropolitan area schools were on the list, four players who are from the area were among the 15 men and 15 women that have been announced as the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy semifinalists.

North Carolina's Crystal Dunn, who hails from Massapequa Park, NY, Penn State's Maya Hayes from West Orange, NJ and Georgetown's Daphne Corboz from Greenbrook, N.J. were on the women's list, while Northeastern's Don Andin, who hails from Amity Harbor, NY was named to the men's list.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. It is presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Anding led Northwestern to their first-ever CAA tournament title and first appearance in the NCAA tournament since 2002. He totaled 35 points (14 goals, six assists), becoming the first Husky since 1994 to notch 30 points in a season (Bjorn Hansen; 32), and was the first NU player since 1999 to have at least 14 goals in a season (Petter Starnas; 16). Anding is also on the ballot for the Soccer News Net College Boot

Dunn, is the only player in ACC history to earn Defensive Player of the Year honors twice. After returning to Chapel Hill from helping the United States to the 2012 FIFA Under-20 World Cup gold medal, Dunn started the next 11 games and helped the Tar Heel defense to three shutouts, all in ACC action, and a 0.71 goals against average.
Hayes tallied 15 goal and six assists for the 2012 campaign for Penn State after playing a pivotal role in helping the U.S. U-20 National Team win the World Cup back in September. Hayes was named Big Ten Forward of the Year for her second-straight season.
Corboz helped to lead Georgetown to one of the most successful seasons in program history as the Hoyas set a school record with 16 wins. The Blue & Gray finished the 2012 season with a 16-4-3 overall record and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament. Along the way, the Hoyas posted an 8-1-1 record in the BIG EAST Conference and won the BIG EAST National Division title.
A 5-2 sophomore, Corboz was named the BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year after a record-setting season for the Hoyas. Overall, Corboz set a Georgetown single-season record with 44 points scored. She scored a school single-season record 18 goals while adding eight assists. Corboz ranks 11th in the country in points per game (1.91), 10th in goals per game and is tied for seventh in goals scored overall (18).
All three of the women are on the ballot for the Soccer News Net College Boot

Several players from this year’s Watch List were named semifinalists. On the men’s side, Connecticut’s Carlos Alvarez (Los Angeles), Coastal Carolina’s Ashton Bennett (Claredon, Jamaica), Akron’s Scott Caldwell (Braintree, Mass.), Georgetown’s Steve Neumann (New Hope, Pa.), and New Mexico’s Devon Sandoval (Albuquerque, N.M.).

On the women’s side, Watch List players turned semifinalists include Duke’s Natasha Anasi (Arlington, Texas), UCLA’s Zakiya Bywaters (Las Vegas), North Carolina’s Crystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), Florida State’s Ines Jaurena (Charenton-le-Pont, France), BYU’s Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall (Park City, Utah), Boston College’s Kristen Mewis (Hanson, Mass.), Virginia’s Carolina Miller (Rockville, Md.), Florida’s Erika Tymrak (Bradenton, Fla.), and Penn State’s Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.) and Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.).

The top three vote-getters for each gender will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved