Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
College Soccer


December 8, 2012
Soccer News Net Women's College Boot

U.S. Women's National Team member Amy Rodriguez was the first winner of the Soccer News Net Player of the Year.
U.S. Women's National Team member Amy Rodriguez was the first winner of the Soccer News Net Player of the Year.
Linda Cutttone/Sports Vue Images
Previous winners of the Soccer News Net College Boot.

2007---Amy Rodriguez, USC
2008--- Casey Nogueira, North Carolina
2009---Kelley O'Hara, Stanford
2010---Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame
2011---Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois

Cast your vote for the Soccer News Net College Boot player of the year

2007-Amy Rodriguez, USC
Rodriguez, a junior forward, led the Trojans to their first-ever NCAA Championship in 2007.
Rodriguez scored 10 goals and added 3 assists for 23 pts in 2007, leading USC to a 6-2-1 record in the Pac-10 Conference and a 20-3-2 record overall.
It was in the NCAA tournament that the native of Lake Forest, Calif. really shone through, scoring a goal in the first round win over Creighton, then adding two more in the 2-1 win over cross-town rival UCLA in the semifinal.
Rodriguez was named the offensive player of the tournament, and also was a first team All-America selection by the NSCAA.

2008-Casey Nogueira, North Carolina
Nogueira led the nation in 2008 in goals with 25 and points with 58. She also led the Tar Heels in game-winning goals with seven. In 2008, she had one four-goal games, one three-goal game and six other games with two goals.
Nogueira’s hat trick keyed a win at Wake Forest, and her four goals led the Tar Heels to another ACC win at NC State. She was named MVP of the ACC Championship tournament and ACC Offensive Player of the Year, in addition to a first team All America selection by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.
Nogueira tallied two goals in the NCAA College Cup Finals to lead the Tar Heels to their 19th title, and was named tournament Offensive MVP in the process.
She is the daughter of former North American Soccer League and Major Indoor Soccer League goalkeeper Victor Nogueira.

2009-Kelley O’Hara, Stanford
O’Hara, who led Stanford to an undefeated regular season before falling in the College Cup to eventual champion North Carolina, also was the winner of the MAC Hermann Trophy.
O’Hara, a native of Fayetteville, Ga., led Stanford (25-1) to its best record and to its first NCAA championship final, shattering school scoring records along the way and leading the nation in goals and points by scoring 26 goals, 13 assists, 65 points.
A 2009 NSCAA first team All-America, O’Hara was the Pacific-10 Conference’s Player of the Year and an ESPN The Magazine first team Academic All-American.

2010- Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame
Henderson and Penn State University redshirt freshman forward Tani Costa finished in a tie in the overall voting, but the award went to Henderson based on the number of first place votes cast. Illinois forward Vanessa DiBernardo finished third in the cumulative voting. Costa, who finished first in the on-line fan voting was named the first recipient of the Soccer News Net Supporters’ Choice Award.
Henderson, a native of Garland, Texas, was the Big East Conference Offensive Player of the Year. She led the conference with 10 goals and 24 points during league play and was best over the course of the whole season (14 goals, 35 points and five game-winning goals). Notre Dame’s run to the Women’s College Cup championship left her with 17 goals overall, plus a career-high 11 assists for 45 points, another career-best.
A four- time all-conference selection, she was sixth nationally in total points and seventh in points per match (1.84), ninth in goals and in goals per match (0.74). Henderson was one of only three players in the country to rank among the top 20 in goals, assists (t-20th) and points (fourth). She earned National Player of the Week Honors Oct. 4 and was a first-team all-conference pick, the second time in her career.
Henderson also went on to win the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy

2011- Vanessa DiBernardo, Illinois
A strong finish in the fan balloting lifted DiBernardo over second-place finisher Maya Hayes of Penn State in the award selection. LIU’s Jennifer Bannon was the leading vote-getter among fans, giving her the Soccer News Net Supporters Choice Award for 2011.
DiBernardo finished third in the voting for 2010 Soccer News Net honors.
DiBernardo (Naperville, Ill./Waubonsie Valley HS/ASC Eagles) was named Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and a First Team All-Conference selection. During the 2011 season, the sophomore midfielder paced the Illini with 39 points and 17 goals - the second-highest single-season total in program history in both categories - while finishing in the top 25 nationally for points per game, goals per game, points and goals. DiBernardo also finished third nationally in game-winning goals with eight – including the overtime clincher to give the Illini their second Big Ten Tournament Championship -- boosting her two-year total for game-winners to 12. She was the Soccer News College Player of the Week twice during the 2011 season.

Cast your vote for the Soccer News Net College Boot player of the year
Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved