Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
College Soccer


January 11, 2013
Rockville Centre's Dunn wins women's MAC Hermann Trophy

Crystal Dunn (right), along with U.S. Soccer icon Mia Hamm and Patrick Mullins of the University of Maryland, the men's MAC Hermann Trophy winner.
Crystal Dunn (right), along with U.S. Soccer icon Mia Hamm and Patrick Mullins of the University of Maryland, the men's MAC Hermann Trophy winner.
Photo courtesy of Missouri Athletic Club
Not too shabby for a junior, not too shabby at all.

North Carolina junior midfielder Crystal Dunn of Rockville Centre, N.Y. on Friday was named winner of the Missouri Athletic Club's women's Hermann Trophy, given to the best college soccer player.

University of Maryland forward Patrick Mullins was named the men's winner.

The winners were decided by a vote of NCAA Division I soccer coaches whose programs are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, along with a fan vote that cumulatively counted as the equivalent of one coachís vote.

Dunn became the fifth Tar Heel player to win in the award, following Cat Reddick (2003), Cindy Parlow (1997, 1998), Tisha Venturini (1994), Mia Hamm (1992, 1993) and Kristine Lilly (1991). The seven MAC Hermann Trophies for the Carolina women are the most by any school.

"This is an amazing honor," Dunn said. "I feel honored.

"I would like to thank my family. They have supported me."

Dunn, a South Side High School graduate who played for the Rockville Centre Power, Rockville Centre Tornadoes and Albertson Fury in the Long Island Junior Soccer League, was a key member of the 2012 U.S. National Team that captured the Under-20 World Cup in Japan in September. She assisted on fellow Tar Heel Kealia Ohaiís goal, the only goal in the final, a 1-0 victory over Germany.

She missed the non-conference portion of the Tar Heelsí schedule, but after Dunn joined the lineup, her experience and versatility made an immediate impact. Dunn started at center back for the first 11 games before being moved to the center midfield for UNCís six-game NCAA Tournament run.

She played a key role in helping Carolina capture its 21st national championship. Dunn assisted on goals in both College Cup games. The three-year starter earned National Soccer Coaches Association of Americaf first team All-America honors and was named the Atlantic Coast Conference defensive player of the year.

The first runner-up was Penn State senior midfielder Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.) followed by Virginia senior midfielder Caroline Miller (Rockville, Md.).

Mullins, a New Orleans native, led Marylandís high-scoring attack with 17 goals and 10 assists. He recorded seven game-winning goals to lead Maryland to the best winning percentage in the country (20-1-3). The Terrapins made it all the way to the College Cup semifinal where they lost on penalty kicks

An NSCAA first team All-American, Mullinsí 2012 season ranks sixth in points and goals, and eighth in assists in Maryland season history. The forward was named ACC offensive player of the year and tabbed MVP at the ACC Championship after leading the Terps to their third ACC tournament crown since 2008. He also helped Maryland capture the ACC regular season crown for the first time since 2005. Mullins is the second player in Maryland history to win the MAC Hermann Trophy. Jason Garey received the crystal soccer ball trophy in 2005.

The first runner-up was Notre Dame forward Ryan Finley (Lumberton, N.J.) followed by Creighton senior midfielder Jose Gomez (Santa Ana, Calif.).

The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccerís players of the year awards since 1986.
Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved