Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


February 20, 2013
2-time defending champ Mexico to begin Gold Cup at Rose Bowl on July 7

Mexico will kick off the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup at the Rose Bowl on July 7
Mexico will kick off the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup at the Rose Bowl on July 7
Photo courtesy of CONCACAF
PASADENA, Calif.---Two-time defending champion Mexico will kick off the CONCACAF Gold Cup against a yet to be determined foe at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif. on Sunday, July 7. The game will be part of a doubleheader.

The confederation made the announcement at the Rose Bowl on Wednesday afternoon.

The Gold Cup will run through July 28.

No site has been named yet for the championship game.

Tickets will be available to the general public starting on February 26 at 10:00 a.m. PST by visiting

“We look forward to an exciting 2013 Gold Cup beginning on July 7th here at the historic Rose Bowl,” CONCACAF president Jeffrey Webb said. “All communities will be united through regional rivalries that generate national pride filled with emotion and passion.”

Under the guidance of head coach Jose Manuel de la Torre, El Tri looks to defend its 2011 Gold Cup title, which his team secured behind a 4-2 comeback win over the United States before a capacity crowd of more than 93,000 fans at the Rose Bowl.

The Rose Bowl has a long history as an international soccer destination, including the site of the 1984 Olympic final, the 1994 World Cup final, the 1999 Women’s World Cup final, the 2002 and 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup finals, as well as being the home to Major League Soccer’s LA Galaxy from 1996-2003. It is the only stadium in the world to have hosted both a men’s and women’s World Cup final and an Olympic gold medal match. The venue is also home to American football’s oldest annual college New Year’s Day game, and has served five times as the site of the NFL’s Super Bowl.

CONCACAF will expand its footprint by visiting a dozen other venues across the United States. The venues are: Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga; M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, Md.; Soldier Field in Chicago, Ill.; Sports Authority Field at Mile High in Denver, Colo.; Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Conn.; BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas; Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens, Fla; Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J.; JELD-WEN Field in Portland, Ore.; Rio Tinto Stadium in Salt Lake City, Utah; CenturyLink Field in Seattle, Wash.

The 2011 tournament drew more than 600,000 fans throughout 13 match-days, including nine sellouts.

Twelve national teams have qualified for this year’s tournament (in alphabetical order): Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Mexico, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago and the United States.

The biennial Gold Cup has established itself as the region’s most popular national team tournament, routinely drawing capacity crowds and millions of television viewers across the region.

The Gold Cup groups and schedules will be announced mid-March.
Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved