Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
Major League Soccer


November 19, 2012
Berry top rookie, Pause and Revs win Fairplay

NEW YORK---Chicago Fire defender Austin Berry has been named Major League Soccer’s Rookie of the Year, while the Fire’s Logan Pause and the New England Revolution are the recipients of the league’s Fair Play Award.

A hard-nosed, blue collar defender out of the University of Louisville, Berry developed into one of the top young center backs in the League. In his rookie season, Berry showcased his physical talents, skill and composure under pressure while starting 28 consecutive matches for the Men in Red, tallying three goals and contributing to the success of the Chicago Fire defense that only allowed 41 goals during the course of the 2012 campaign.
All first-year players in MLS without previous professional experience were eligible for the Rookie of the Year award, voted by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were D.C. United forward Nick DeLeon and Vancouver Whitecaps FC forward Darren Mattocks.

In his 10th season with the Chicago Fire, Paues, a University of North Carolina product started 31 games for the club this year and scored one goal with only two shots on target. In 2,424 minutes played this season, Pause committed just 11 fouls and received no red or yellow cards. The other two finalists were Chivas USA defender Ante Jazic and New York Red Bulls defender Heath Pearce.
This award is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games & minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

The New England Revolution committed the second-lowest number of fouls (360) in the league in 2012. The team’s 40 cautions were the league’s third-lowest total, while the team’s two red cards are tied for the second-lowest total in MLS. Additionally, no Revolution player served a caution accumulation suspension this year. This is the Revolution’s third time winning this award as they garnered the honors back in 2003 and 2008.
The award is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fewest fouls committed and cards received, and subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.
Rookie of the Year Winners
2012: Austin Berry – Chicago Fire
2011: C.J. Sapong – Sporting Kansas City
2010: Andy Najar – D.C. United
2009: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2008: Sean Franklin – LA Galaxy
2007: Maurice Edu – Toronto FC
2006: Jonathan Bornstein – Chivas USA
2005: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2004: Clint Dempsey – New England Revolution
2003: Damani Ralph – Chicago Fire
2002: Kyle Martino – Columbus Crew
2001: Rodrigo Faria - MetroStars
2000: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
1999: Jay Heaps – Miami Fusion
1998: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
1997: Mike Duhaney – Tampa Bay Mutiny
1996: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved