Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News
Women's Professional Soccer


November 21, 2012
Source: Sky Blue, KC, Chicago, Portland, Seattle, Boston, WNY, D.C. will be part of the league

By Michael Lewis Editor

U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati on Wednesday is expected to announce the eight teams that will be among the new national women's soccer league.

The eight teams include Sky Blue (New Jersey), Kansas City, Chicago, Portland, Seattle, Boston, Western New York and Washington, D.C., according to a reliable soccer source.

Gulati will talk on a conference call on Wednesday afternoon.

He will be joined by representatives of the Canadian Soccer Association, the Federation of Mexican Football and at least one team owner.

The new league would be the third women's circuit in North America since 2001. The Women's United Soccer Association was operated from 2001-2003, while Women's Professional Soccer ran from 2009-2011. The latter league folded earlier this year.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved