Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsBig Apple Soccer HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


November 27, 2012
Red Bull Academy players picked fort Nike friendlies

Two members of the Red Bulls Academy were named to the 20-player U.S. Under-17 National Team roster that will be competing in the 2012 Nike International Friendlies at Premier Sports Campus in Lakewood Ranch, Fla.

The players were:

* Goalkeeper Evan Louro (South River, N.J.)

* Midfielder Christopher Lema (Ridgefield, N.J.)

The team is coached by former Red Bulls assistant coach and player Richie Williams.

The defending champion U.S. kicks off the tournament Wednesday against last year’s runner-up Brazil, followed by Turkey on Friday, and Portugal on Sunday. All U.S. games kick off at 5 p.m. ET, and fans can follow updates on Twitter @ussoccer_ynt.

Coaching in his first Nike International Friendlies, Williams is bringing a U.S. team that features eight returning players from the 2011 champions, including the goalkeeping tandem of Paul Christensen and Louro. Other featured returning players include defenders Conor Donovan, Shaquell Moore and John Requejo Jr., midfielders Lema and Rubio Rubin, and forward Corey Baird. Rubin, the 2012 U.S. Soccer Young Male athlete of the year, scored a goal in the second minute during the U.S.’s 3-1 win over Brazil that led to the U.S. U-17 MNT’s first Nike International Friendlies title.

The roster:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Paul Christensen (Seattle Sounders Academy; Woodinville, Wash.), Evan Louro (New York Red Bulls Academy; South River, N.J.)

DEFENDERS (6): Jordan Cano (FC Dallas Academy; Richardson, Texas), Conor Donovan (NC Alliance; Fuquay Varina, N.C.), Elijah Martin (Cal Odyssey; Fresno, Calif.), Shaquell Moore (Unattached; Powder Springs, Ga.), John Requejo Jr. (Real So Cal; Carpinteria, Calif.), Peter Schropp (Omaha FC; Omaha, Neb.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Mukwelle Akale (Minnesota Thunder Academy; Minneapolis, Minn.), Junior Flores (McLean Youth Soccer; Manassas Park, Va.), Emerson Hyndman (Fulham FC Academy; Canton, Texas), Christopher Lema (New York Red Bulls Academy; Ridgefield, N.J.), Cameron Lindley (Indiana Fire Academy; Carmel, Ind.), Rolando Muñoz (LA Galaxy Academy; Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.), Ben Swanson (Crew Soccer Academy; Grove City, Ohio)

FORWARDS (5): Corey Baird (San Diego Surf; Escondido, Calif.), Sebastian Elney (Boca United; Lake Worth, Fla.), Rubio Rubin (Portland Timbers Academy; Beaverton, Ore.), Ahinga Selemani (CSA Wolves; Ann Arbor, Mich.), Alan Winn (Solar Chelsea FC; Garland, Texas)

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2017 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved